AAEOY 2018
AAEOY 2018

AAEOYDiscoverE AAEOY stands for Asian American Engineer of the Year award, an annual recognition event on a national platform to honor outstanding Asian American professionals in Science and Engineering for their technical achievements, leadership and public services. As a part of the DiscoverE (previously known as National Engineers Week) Program, AAEOY was first introduced in 2002. This event has since become a prestigious and important forum for Corporate America, Academia, and Government entities in promoting STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) activities.

Since 2002, hundreds of Asian-American professionals from leading US corporations, prestigious research institutions as well as US Armed Forces have been selected as the recipients of this prestigious Award.

In addition, "Distinguished Awards" were also presented to honor and celebrate the achievements of Asian Americans with global statures and influences. Past Distinguished Awardees included Nobel Laureates, scholars, academia leaders, key corporate executives and astronauts.

AAEOY Awardees are role models and source of inspiration for all Americans especially the STEM community. For more Awardee information, please visit Past Awardees section.

Asian American Engineer of the Year Award 2018

Saturday, April 7th, 2018
Hotel Albuquerque
800 Rio Grande Blvd NW
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87104

AAEOY 2018 Post Release

AAEOY 2018 Photos

AAEOY 2018 Press Release

Registration Form

AAEOY 2018 Award Committee

Chui Fan Cheng
Executive Chair
(505) 355-9798

Dr. Yifeng Wang
(505) 238-9565


Past Events

AAEOY 2017, Bellevue, WA
AAEOY 2016, New Brunswick, NJ
AAEOY 2015, Los Angeles, CA
AAEOY 2014, Burlingame, CA
AAEOY 2013, Dallas, TX
AAEOY 2012, Albuquerque, NM


Distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award

Sundar Pichai, Google
Dr. Yitang Zhang, University of California at Santa Barbara

Asian American Executive of the Year Award

Edward Gerding, The Boeing Company

Asian American Engineer of the Year Award

Thomas J. Bueno, US Army Corps of Engineers
Dr. Mei Cai, General Motors
Mickey Iqbal, IBM
Dr. Sreenivasan Koduri, Texas Instruments
Dr. Shelly Li, Idaho National Laboratory
Dr. Shengyi Liu, The Boeing Company
Dr. Hy Tran, Sandia National Laboratories
Dr. Jaya Shankar Tumuluru, Idaho National Laboratory
Dr. Grant Wang, The Boeing Company

Asian American Most Promising Engineer of the Year Award

Dr. Rian Mustafa Bahran, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Jennifer Lam-Nguyen Pham, US Naval Air Command Systems

Friday, April 6, 2018

Registration: 8:30AM – 8:00PM

Technical Tour

Registered guests only

Place: Sandia National Laboratories
Dress Code: Business casual with comfortable walking shoes

Buses leave Hotel Albuquerque at 9:00 am.

Pre-award Dinner

By invitations only

Place: Albuquerque Balloon Museum
Dress Code: Business

A dinner reception for awardees and nominators in a relaxing social/networking atmosphere among the Awardees, Company VIPs and CIE/AAEOY National representatives. Buses leave Hotel Albuquerque at 5:15 pm.

Saturday, April 7, 2018

Registration: 8:30AM – 5:30PM

Technical and Leadership Seminars

Open to public

Place: Hotel Albuquerque Conference Rooms
Dress Code: Business Casual

Technical Seminar: 9:00 – 10:30AM
Leadership Seminar: 10:40AM – 12:10PM

Cultural Tour

Hotel Albuquerque guests only

Place: Old Town
Dress Code: Casual

Old Town Walking Tour. Meet at Hotel lobby at 9:50AM. Contact Hotel Albuquerque for details.

VIP Reception

By invitations only

Place: Hotel Albuquerque
Dress Code: Black tie formal for awardees; business formal for others

A cocktail and networking event for awardees and their families, company representatives and government officials. CIE National Council members will gather to briefly introduce and honor the awardees. Awardees must attend Group Photo at 3:45PM. Cocktail 4:00-5:00PM.

Award Banquet

By invitations only

Place: Hotel Albuquerque
Dress Code: Black tie formal for awardees and those to be on stage, Business formal for general attendees

A formal award banquet to introduce and honor the 2018 AAEOY Awardees and Distinguished Awardees. Seating starts at 5:15PM. Banquet starts at 5:40PM.


Send Your Resume to Our Proud Sponsors

If you are currently looking for internship or full-time opportunities with the following companies/organizations, please submit your resume.
Letter to the Job Seekers (PDF, 72KB)
Flyer (PDF, 412KB)

General Motors
Idaho National Laboratory
International Business Machines
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Sandia National Laboratories
Texas Instruments
U.S. Coast Guard
U.S. Army - National Guard
U.S. Navy – Naval Air Systems Command
Westlake Chemical

Submit Resume


Hotel Albuquerque

800 Rio Grande Blvd. NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104

Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town delights travelers with a distinctive blend of historic grandeur and contemporary comfort. Our landmark hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Old Town, offering luxurious Albuquerque hotel rooms and amenities including our on-site restaurant and bars, an outdoor resort swimming pool, a romantic wedding chapel, and more than 62,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. Please visit Hotel Albuquerque location and maps page for the directions.

Hotel Reservation Information

AAEOY 2018 will be held at the historical Hotel Albuquerque. Rooms have been set aside at Hotel Albuquerque on Thursday, April 5, 2018 through Sunday, April 8, 2018 at the rate of $119.00 plus tax per night (single/double occupancy).

A block of rooms has also been set aside at the nearby Hotel Chaco on Thursday, April 5, 2018 through Sunday, April 8, 2018 at the rate of $165.00 plus tax per night (single/double occupancy). The reservation website will include a $30 resort fee per night, however, this fee will be waived at check-out if reservation is made through the 2018 AAEOY group discount rate.

The deadline for hotel reservation with the special hotel rates is March 23, 2018.

You may contact the hotel by calling toll free at 866-505-7829 or 505-247-0708 and ask to be connected to reservations. To receive the group rate, guests must state that they would like to be placed under "AAEOY 2018 Annual Award Celebration" or block code 1804AA for either Hotel Chaco or Hotel Albuquerque. Reservation Office hours are (Mountain Standard Time):
Mon-Fri 8am - 7pm
Sat 9am - 5pm
Sun 9am - 5pm

To register online, please use Hotel Albuquerque Reservation or Hotel Chaco Reservation. The code for special discount rates is already entered on the website.

Please contact Hotel Albuquerque directly and provide required information to the hotel if you are eligible for government rate.

Also, pending on room availability, the hotel will honor the discounted room rates 3 days before and 3 days after the actual event. If guests plan on staying additional nights they will have to call in to make those reservations.